A peeve

Please forgive me a little whining.

There is a thing that bothers me. It shouldn’t. I am self-aware enough to know that in the grand scheme of things, it has no consequence.

It’s people’s saying “PIN number.”

I have lost my ATM card, and my son said tonight, “When you get your new one, can you get the same PIN number? I’ve memorized the other one.”

Oh, son.

“I think they give me a new personal identification number number with the new card,” I cheeked. “You’ll have to learn it before you use the automated teller machine machine.”

I’m embarrassed this gets under my skin. If I were a better person, this post would be about human trafficking or potable water waste.

7 Responses to “A peeve”

  1. Will Says:

    It’s not as annoying to me as people substituting the ‘d’ in “second” for a ‘t’.

  2. Audrie Says:

    Or “could care less”, when they really mean “couldn’t”….

  3. Julia Says:

    Or when my dad calls Ms.Glass “Ms.Blass”. Apparently the “g” sound doesn’t compute in his brain.

  4. roberto Says:

    When people don’t comment on my cool status updates on Facebook.

  5. Julia Says:

    Ah facebook…how I love thee….
    Have you ever thought that maybe your status updates aren’t as cool as you think?

  6. Leanne Says:

    Ok, my pet peeve is when people who know better pronounce “library” as “lie-berry”. I have learned not to correct them because if they continue to do it, they are just being spiteful.
    Ah, I feel better. Thanx, Toni.

  7. Myles Says:

    Yeah, I’m totally guilty.

    We should start calling them PIN number numbers. THAT’LL show em!

Leave a Reply

