Letters to my children

When I was starting out in the newsroom I edited obituaries.

It skewed my perspective on mortality. A good number more than you’d think are young people.

People my age died everyday. They died on the freeway, and they died of heart disease. One woman who went to high school with me died of AIDS. Another had an unexpected seizure. They left behind babies.

I was not yet 30.

It began to occur to me that my chances of survival on any given day could be good, could be bad.

I stopped taking the freeway to work.

I filled out my own obit form with my history and favorite charity. I wrote down the song I wanted played at my service.

Then I wrote letters to my children, just in case. They offered comfort, love and acceptance. They revealed what I saw in them that was good.

It wasn’t enough. I wrote more letters.

I wrote letters to be opened on their wedding days.

It wasn’t enough.

By the time I was through, there were stacks of letters for each child. They included graduation, first home purchase and first baby. Then I had to write letters for  in case one of them didn’t graduate, get married or have a baby. There were some to be opened in the event of unexpected pregnancy or in case they were gay.

I went completely round the bend thinking of circumstances I should lend a voice to.

I was writing to sophisticated people I didn’t even know. During this frenzy, my kids were 3 and 5.

Now they’re almost 15 and 17. I can throw most of the letters out. They know I would support whatever they decided to do about a pregnancy. They know I don’t care if they’re gay. They know I’m proud of the people they’ve become, and they have the strength and confidence to choose futures that make them happy.

They’ve had the benefit of witnessing my values as far as marriage, parenting, drinking and humor. I’ve taught them both how to cook, sew and play poker.

Thanks to this blog, they even have all the family stories.

I’m not ready to die, but tonight I’ve decided something close. I’m ready to relax.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Letters to my children”

  1. Fred Bauman Says:

    Bravo for persuing the ancient art of letter writing. How else would we know so much of our forbears (or maybe three bears) were it not for well written and scrupulously kept correspondence. John Adams wrote his wife Abigail every day when he was away helping found our nation. Much of our knowledge about the Civil War comes from letters written not just by generals but by ordinary rank and file soldiers. Now your letters are different to be sure, not to be opened until after your demise, but please, don’t throw them away, time will come when we all need a good laugh.

  2. Never do this « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] do this By T. When I was editing obituaries, I used to have to sit with the original form submitted by the family, and make sure everything in […]

  3. The doctor’s obituary « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] The doctor’s obituary By T. This may be my last editing-obituaries story. […]

  4. Never do this « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I was editing obituaries, I used to have to sit with the original form submitted by the family, and make sure everything in […]

Leave a Reply

