And I say,

When I was 5 I had a plastic phonograph in my room. I would carry in my mom’s stack of albums, push the stubby black spindle through the Apple sticker on Magical Mystery Tour and sit back, eyes closed, to enjoy Baby, You’re a Rich Man and Fool on a Hill.

My mother, who attended a Beatles’ concert in the 1960s, also has a thick piano book called ‘The Compleat Beatles.’ Thanksgivings of my childhood meant Uncle Rob and Chauncey standing behind her with their guitars while her fingers scooted around the keyboard.

Uncles Monty and Hot Shot and all the wives would be gathered around singing. We would shout requests until 3 in the morning. Nobody made me to go to bed and miss all the fun.

I know Uncle Hot Shot’s favorite is Run for Your Life, Monty’s is Martha My Dear, and  Mom hates to play Maxwell’s Silver Hammer.

I know all the words in that thick book.

Someone always wants to sing Here Comes the Sun.

Now we’re getting to the point of this post.

This is a beautiful song.

But I can’t stand it.

I would never say the sun was coming up. I don’t say the sun rose or set or went behind the mountains.

The sun is holding still.

I always say we’re turning away from or toward the sun.

I try to sing along, but I sound silly singing “Our part of the Earth is turning toward the sun, little darling.”

It’s not all right.

7 Responses to “And I say,”

  1. A BIG Beatles Fan (a.k.a. Jeremy A.) Says:

    Viva los Beatles!!!!
    The Fab Four will never get replaced and will go down in history as the best group in recording music history.

    Here’s the wikipedia url for those whom might not know the Beatles well (hopefully everyone has heard of the Beatles, as well as their as their songs)

    In tribute for your birthday I selected an album from ’69 and I chose Abbey Road. I listened to the entire album at least once daily for a week.

    On Sept. 9th I can’t wait to buy “Rubber Soul (Remastered)”.
    If I save more money I might also buy “Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band” as well as “Magical Mystery Tour”

    Here is the lyrics of “Here Comes the Sun” by George Harrison (probably the best song he wrote, but there’s many others as well.)

    “Here Comes the Sun”

    Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
    and I say it’s all right

    Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
    Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
    Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
    and I say it’s all right

    Little darling, the smiles returning to the faces
    Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been here
    Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
    and I say it’s all right

    Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
    Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
    Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
    Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
    Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…

    Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
    Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
    Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
    and I say it’s all right
    It’s all right

  2. Jeffrey Says:

    Wonderful song.

    Enjoyed your post a lot.

  3. A BIG Beatles Fan (a.k.a. Jeremy A.) Says:

    I just listened to the entire album of Magical Mystery Tour and I was surprised on how good it was.
    There were only 3 songs that I didn’t like but the rest I enjoyed.

    When I’m gonna buy Rubber Soul on Sept. 9th, I don’t know which album I’ll buy next- “Magical Mystery Tour” or “Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band”
    Any suggestions?

  4. roberto Says:

    You can squeeze this in “Here we go towards the sun.”

    And you can sign “The fool on the hill, sees the earth turning away.”

  5. gunky Says:

    hee. you linguist.

  6. A BIG Beatles Fan (a.k.a. Jeremy A.) Says:

    “I try to sing along, but I sound silly singing “Our part of the Earth is turning toward the sun, little darling.” ”
    What if you say “Here comes the light, little darling… ”
    Then again it doesn’t work out for this line (near the end): “Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting”.

    That makes me wonder, what was George really thinking about during the production of “Abbey Road”?
    …And what stuff did the Beatles take after “Revolver” (1966) that made them go down in history for their world-known album, “Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band” (1967)?
    Whatever it was, it made them a whole lot of a bigger band and would go down in history.

    Is this an example of why LSD may have a good side..
    …But then again it also has a flip side that have lots of bad consequences…
    I won’t take the chance of taking LSD.

    Instead I’ll spend $26 (on Amazon) for both the Remastered Rubber Soul and MMT albums. (Thanks for your suggestion on MMT. Now I can’t stop listening to it on You Tube.)

  7. Jeremy A. Says:

    I just barely read the comments in the story “Note to readers:”.
    I want to say thank you for sharing this story by request.

    P.S. I didn’t want to assume earlier that it was a special request by myself or else I would end up like an egoist (I don’t think I’m using that word correctly, but along the lines of).
    So to sum it up again, thank you.

    P.P.S. I think I will be able to save enough money to buy Magical Mystery Tour. I think I will be burning copies and will give them out to who ever would like a copy. So who’d like a copy?

Leave a Reply

