The mom translator

Saturday Night Live last week aired a commercial parody. “Moms are great,” the narrator says.

“They love you; they cook for you; they’re always there,” I’m paraphrasing.

“But they can’t remember celebrities’ names.”

Wow. Has he been to my house?

“Call now to order the Mom Celebrity Translator. Type in what Mom said, and the translator instantly shows you the celebrity she meant.”

I often say having a conversation with my grama is like being on a game show. She loves to talk about what she saw on TV, but she can’t remember a single star’s name.

I’m not making this up. We were visiting with my aunties and she said, “I watched that movie on TV last night with that one guy from the big romance movie, that blonde lady and the woman who’s married to that famous actor.”

I nodded, “I didn’t know that was on! I just got the karaoke version of the soundtrack.”

Everyone looked at me.

Chicago.”

I speak Nana.

Tags:

One Response to “The mom translator”

  1. JeremyA Says:

    There are more commercial parodys on http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/exclusives/Commercial_Parodies/

    They are absolutely hilarious.
    Some of my favorites include “Litter Critters”, “Colon Blow”, “Happy Fun Ball”, “Old Glory Insurance”, and many more.

    I enjoyed this story (and all the others) as much as watching these videos.

    =D

Leave a Reply

