Death

I had an emotional conversation with some of our friends this morning. They’re putting their dog down today.

Since we got our first dog I’ve imagined his death. I calculated how old my children would be if he lived an average lifespan. I pictured calling them home from college to say their goodbyes, all of us lying spoon-style on the dog bed, which would be wet with tears.

We had to put our family cat down when the kids were 3 and 5.

We stroked the cat and spoke soothingly, gathered around the cold, steel table in the veteranian’s office. We pretended not to see him tap tap the side of the syringe.

My son maybe shouldn’t have been in there. He was darting his eyes around and feeling helpless. His first word had been ‘cat.’

My daughter was unfazed. I suspected she didn’t understand.

The next day I discovered one of our rabbits, Hare-ica Jong, was dead on the bathroom floor. I think she had had a fight with Cyndi Lop Ear, because there was blood on her neck.

The day after that, I was calling around the house for my husband. I said to my daughter, “Have you seen Daddy? I can’t find him.”

She shrugged without looking up from her toys. “Maybe he’s dead.”

Suspicion confirmed.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Death”

  1. Fred Bauman Says:

    Hare-icajong, Cindy Lopears?
    We were going to call our first dog ‘Digger’, but try calling him that with a stuffed up nose in a racially mixed neighborhood. Didn’t want to invite arson. True story, ask David,
    fab

  2. gunky Says:

    that is hilarious. i love it when it’s hilarious!

  3. Rhonda Says:

    Carlisle should meet my nephew, although he’s twice her age. They’re very similar.

Leave a Reply

