The dance story

This is the anniversary of my daughter’s eighth-grade formal.
Her father had taken her shopping for a new dress. They found a breathtaking one. It must have stopped the music. She was a picture in it.

I have a memory from my first night dance.

My children hate this story.

When I was a kid I was sure I was the only girl in the whole junior high who had never kissed a boy. The prospect scared me. I was sure I would do it wrong. I would be taunted and hated.

Once a boy tried to put his arm around me and I jumped up with a transparent excuse. I didn’t want him to notice I was shaking. After that, he and the other boys sang Cheap Trick’s “She’s Tight” when I walked by.

The night before my dance, my father took me shopping for a new dress. I got a turquoise-and-white striped stretch top with matching mini skirt and braided headband to go across my forehead. I wore white tights and gold ballet flats. I thought I looked better than anyone ever had or would.

And I must have, because early in the evening Barry Sparks asked me to dance. Surely he could hear my heart thudding over the opening notes of “Heat of the Moment.”

This is the boy I was head over heels for. Still, I shook my head like a wet dog and said, “No way!”

I wanted to dance with him more than anything.

I was in pain over this for years.

My children hate this story because their hearts break for Barry.

I hate that their hearts don’t break for me.

Tags:

4 Responses to “The dance story”

  1. Will Says:

    I was tempted to write (something along the lines of) ‘Aww’, but then I put my hands to the keyboard, and the brilliant and amazing clicking sound as the springs buckle and hit the keyswitch, producing the click, and also giving off a wonderful metallic ping as the spring returns to its original position, distracted me.

  2. roberto Says:

    >My children hate this story because their hearts break for Barry.
    >I hate that their hearts don’t break for me.

    I just hate it on general principle.

  3. Rhonda Says:

    I feel your pain.

  4. The ranting waiter story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] figured since I wrote the story my children hate, I’d make a trilogy. Tomorrow I will post the story I most hate. You will hate it […]

Leave a Reply

