Korean confusion

My sister is visiting from Hawaii. This is an enormous treat for me.

After work today I swung by her mom’s house. The girls were there, and there was great visiting going on. They were talking about family history, and interesting or funny stories. My favorite.

My grama was telling us about her stepdad. He was Korean.

He came to the United States because he was involved in some kind of covert political business.

Nana said when he got his driver license the DMV employee was among the many Southern Californians at the time who had never heard of Koreans.

In response to ‘What is your race?’ he thought he heard ‘Aquarian.’ That’s what’s on the license, which Nana says she still has.

My aunt Doreen said that during World War II he wore a button on his shirt that said, ‘I am Korean,’ so he wasn’t mistaken for Japanese. This was protection from being taken to a Japanese concentration camp.

A button? I’m astounded. Why didn’t the Japanese go get some of these buttons?

My sister wanted to know about Korean dishes that may have become family recipes.

“Oh, yes!” all the women said. They described Korean noodles, a soup with pork, cabbage, celery, soy sauce and thick noodles.

“How could I never have seen this in Hawaii?” my sister asked. “There are a lot of Koreans there.”

“Maybe you’re confused,” I said. “Maybe they’re all Aquarians.”

Tags:

3 Responses to “Korean confusion”

  1. Another ghost story « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] he told me things I’d never heard. He told me about Mama’s second husband. The cousin/friend who stepped in after “Papa’s” […]

  2. Lori Says:

    The funny thing is that your sister is Aquarius

  3. Another ghost story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] he told me things I’d never heard. He told me about Mom’s second husband. The cousin/friend who stepped in after “Papa’s” […]

Leave a Reply

