How I met my husband, continued

This is the 21st anniversary of my becoming my husband’s girl.

The story I told before happened on March 22. Here’s what happened the next day.

From the airport in Hilo we were taken to the Big Island Rainforest Action Group headquarters, a building/campsite area in the forest. Many people had tents, but I had never camped before, so I slept on the floor of the main room indoors.

The Aries with the blue eyes slept in his friend Matt‘s tent.

In the morning someone with a car announced he was taking all of these hippies to the beach. I put on my neon one-piece and away we went.

We piled out on the side of a road. The driver pointed to steps and drove off.

I froze at the top of the steps. Everybody down there was naked. Hippies were running down the wooden steps whooping and peeling off their tie-dyes.

The beach was gorgeous. All the sand was black, because it was from the volcano. The ocean was clear aquamarine in front of us. We had palms and papayas behind.

I spread out my towel and lay there in my suddenly louder-than-neon one piece, watching naked hippies play Frisbee.

The Aries and Matt came to sit with me. We ate papayas and watched dolphins frolick close to shore. Later a humpback whale swam over and waved its fluke at us.

Back at the campsite all of those protesters had sunburned privates.

I had gotten to know the Aries pretty well by now. So well that Matt suddenly wanted to sleep outside, which left a vacancy in the tent if I wanted it. He said this in front of a nasty guy who had offered me tent space earlier, so I had to turn him down to protect feelings.

The Aeries asked if I would rub lotion on his burned back. He suggested I bring my baby oil over and give him a lube job.

I said, ‘I know your type, lube ’em and leave ’em.’

I think he hasn’t left me yet just to prove me wrong.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “How I met my husband, continued”

  1. Mike Says:

    The lengths a man will go to prove a woman wrong…enduring 19 years of love and happiness. Way to go, D.

  2. How we met « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] I hoped he would follow me, I refused to tell him how I knew. I just walked […]

  3. The Woodstock story « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] Woodstock story By T. When I met my husband, (see parts I, II and III,) I knew he was the one. I sensed I had to be real with him — expose my flawed […]

  4. Getting arrested — a love story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] far I’ve taken you through the first two days. (See How we met, continued for day […]

  5. The Woodstock story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I met my husband, (see parts I, II and III,) I knew he was the one. I sensed I had to be real with him — expose my flawed […]

  6. How we met « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I hoped he would follow me, I refused to tell him how I knew. I just walked […]

Leave a Reply

