How I came to work at the college

Here’s the story I promised last week.

After high school I worked as a stunt hula-hooper. I played a character — Chantilly Lace — at a ’50s-themed restaurant.

With hoops awhirl I danced, jumped, dropped to my knees and stood. I held a tray of beers over my head and crossed the room without going around a bench and table but over them.

I was a waitress, singer, jitterbugger and comedienne. My coworkers had names like Jughead, Moondoggie and Boom Boom.

Part of my job description was to be outrageous. For instance, I was once spraying whipped cream on a guy’s sundae, (the sundae was ‘female,’ which meant without nuts,) when he said something rude to his date. I turned the nozzle on his face and earned a $200 tip.

My customers would be mid-order and I would tell them to ‘cool their jets cuz my dogs were barking.’ I would nudge them to make room in their booth and prop my saddle shoes on their table. While I rested, I would refresh my lipstick in the reflection of their napkin holder. They ate it up, my rudeness.

A month after I got fired for giving my friends free food I was in a fast-food line behind an unfamiliar man.

“You’re Chantilly Lace!” I got that alot. “Remember me? I gave you a $100 tip.”

I had learned to pretend these people stood out. “Of course! You made my week.”

He was the officer manager at a local college. He couldn’t help himself. He beamed over his bag of chicken nuggets and offered me a job.

Tags:

12 Responses to “How I came to work at the college”

  1. gunky Says:

    what the heck restaurant was that? i was hoping for the link . . .

  2. T. Says:

    http://www.geocities.com/rowzeesdiner/herbie.htm

    i wasn’t at the one in florida, but it looked the same inside. the chain closed when herbie was murdered in the late ’90s.

  3. Scandals « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] may remember I worked at a ’50s dinner theater after high school, where I was the hula-hooping stunt singer, Chantilly Lace. I immediately became […]

  4. The carpet tack story « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] was running late for work at the ’50s restaurant shortly after I had flooded my parents’ house. Tack strip lined the threshold between the […]

  5. My ex-boyfriends « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] was my boyfriend when I was working as a hula hooper. At the time, he worked in a record […]

  6. Moondoggie Says:

    And exactly who did you jitterbug with? Hmmmmmm…………..Fun times for sure.

  7. How I ended up in journalism « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] recap what we have so far of my post-high school adventures: I worked as a hula-hooping singer at a ’50s place until a former customer saw me in public and offered me a job at a college […]

  8. Scandals « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] may remember I worked at a ’50s dinner theater after high school, where I was the hula-hooping stunt singer, Chantilly Lace. I immediately became […]

  9. The carpet tack story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] was running late for work at the ’50s restaurant shortly after I had flooded my parents’ house. Tack strip lined the threshold between the […]

  10. My ex-boyfriends « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] was my boyfriend when I was working as a hula hooper. At the time, he worked in a record […]

  11. How I ended up in journalism « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] recap what we have so far of my post-high school adventures: I worked as a hula-hooping singer at a ’50s place until a former customer saw me in public and offered me a job at a college […]

  12. How I came to learn Spanish « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I was 19 I worked in the office of a college. How I came to work in that office is a whole story in itself. I will tell it […]

Leave a Reply

