My son cracks me up

When my son was in first grade, and my daughter in preschool, we bought a three-story, turn-of-the-century house. It was 4,000 square feet and had ornate woodwork throughout.

My kids had heard me excitedly telling family or friends about the house we were buying, and started repeating my words in a way that made them sound a little too proud. It made me embarrassed.

One afternoon my daughter’s friend was in the car with us, coming over to play. I was afraid the kids would start in about the house, so I said, “I hope you were warned about our house.”

“It’s more of a shack,” I said, and went on to describe a pretty sad but survivable place. “In fact, we don’t have a bathroom. We use a cup.”

“But good news!” chimed in my son, who had been quiet to this point. “We each have our own cup.”

link to photos

Tags:

9 Responses to “My son cracks me up”

  1. Rhonda Says:

    Ha! Only he could come up with that.

    Melanie warned me last night: “when I have a daughter, I’m stealing T’s daughter’s name.” Since you’re a journalist, is that plagiarism, or since she isn’t a journalist, is it just mere copyright infringement?

  2. Lee Iacocca « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] By T. I just got an e-mail from my neighbor at our other house. He says me lots of political forwards. He is a conservative […]

  3. The Santa Claus story « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] moved into my other house, he lived in a rental home with his girlfriend of many years. He and she were both reporters at the […]

  4. The safe story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] The safe story By T. I’m writing in the middle of the night. I just got home from dealing a poker championship tournament in my other house. […]

  5. A milestone post « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] Later that week my aunt and uncle, my parents, the band and their spouses joined us at my house for […]

  6. The chandelier story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] living room of our craftsman home sported a gaudy dripping-crystal chandelier that we both thought was comical, so I wandered […]

  7. Lee Iacocca « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] just got an e-mail from my neighbor at our other house. He sends me lots of political forwards. He is a conservative […]

  8. The Santa Claus story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] moved into my other house, he lived in a rental home with his girlfriend of many years. He and she were both reporters at the […]

  9. The safe story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I’m writing in the middle of the night. I just got home from dealing a poker championship tournament in my other house. […]

Leave a Reply

