The woot bew story

My cousin Sterling and his bride Alison arrived today.

He’s turning 32 next month, but I still see him as a 4-year-old who hums the theme to Star Wars and can’t say the R sound.

Our grampa used to tease him. One afternoon Sterl wanted a root beer.

Grampa waxed confused, “Woot bew?”

Sterl was patient, “Not woot bew, Grampa, woot bew.”

Everyone tried not to laugh.

“I’ve never heard of that. What’s woot bew?”

Sterl got impatient, “Not woot bew, woot bew!”

“Honey? Do we something called woot bew?”

Tonight I asked Sterl if he remembered this. He remembers hearing about it. He’s still a little sore.

My husband said, “One day you’re going to do it to your kids.”

“I know,” Sterl said. “And that’s why.”

Pay it forward, baby. Ya gotta get revenge somewhere.

4 Responses to “The woot bew story”

  1. Julia Says:

    Its funny, as I was reading this my little brother was sitting behind me playing with a puzzle and humming the theme to star wars.

  2. Julia Says:

    However he can say the R sound.

  3. roberto Says:

    Poor Stewling.

  4. roberto Says:

    BTW, I used to call him Stewie.

Leave a Reply

