Translating

Whenever we see or hear something in another language, I can count on my husband’s leaning toward me and asking what it means.

Sometimes I know, sometimes I don’t. Either way, I make something up.

It goes something like this. “Robert says he has to go to Aliso Viejo tomorrow. What does Aliso Viejo mean?”

“That’s a man who has sex with goats.”

“Really?” Yeah.

This has been going on for 20 years. I have always suspected he didn’t believe me, and he has always suspected I’m full of nonsense, but I’m busted for sure now.

I have started answering too fast. I should have made it practice to stop and think.

The other day “Just Can’t Get Enough” came on the radio. My husband asked, “What does Depeche Mode mean?”

“That’s French for ‘Captain and Tennille.’ ”

“It is not either. You’re full of crap.”

Whoops. I went too far.

One Response to “Translating”

  1. gunky Says:

    you’re ALWAYS so quick with the come-backs.
    it is very suspicious.

Leave a Reply

