The doctor’s obituary

This may be my last editing-obituaries story.

I was reading an obit one night, and I noticed that “Mr.” Soandso had worked as a physician for 38 years. He held a medical degree from UCLA, and had done a pre-med program at Georgetown.

I called the widow to clarify.

“Mrs. Soandso, it’s our custom to refer to the deceased as ‘Dr. Soandso’ when he had an M.D. and practiced medicine, but the reporter — who knows this — didn’t use it. Were there circumstances I’m not seeing?”

“I’ll tell you the circumstances!” I had to hold the phone away. “That son of a bitch made every boyfriend our daughter brought home call him Doctor. Every one of my friends from work had to call him Doctor. Our damn grocer called him Mister once, and got a curt correction.

“He was a pompous son of a bitch. I spent 38 years embarrassed to death.

“Don’t you dare put ‘Dr. Soandso’ on his obituary. I’m having my revenge, and you’re not spoiling it.”

Mr. Son-of-a-Bitch it is.

Tags:

5 Responses to “The doctor’s obituary”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Awesome!

  2. Fred Bauman Says:

    I don’t know whether this is still the case, but when I lived in Germany not only did the physician have to be addressed as “Herr Doktor”, but his wife was “Frau Doktor.” no two ways about it.
    fab

  3. T. Says:

    I like it, Fred. I wonder if I can get people to address mein Mann as “Herr Editor.”

  4. Myles Says:

    Wowww. O_O

  5. Noisy Quiet Says:

    ROFL! Ok, I almost spit tortilla’s all over the keyboard just now (Tell your husband “Tortilla” means “Small Turtle Shell” -see if he buys it 😉 )

    I swung by a while ago, but was having a serious case of Deja Vu. This post (and the spanish translation one) I actually hadn’t seen before.

    Hope all’s well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

