The die story

A few Thanksgivings ago my baby cousin Sterling and his girlfriend came down from Washington. At dinner, they announced their engagement.

Wee hooo! I love a big announcement on a holiday.

After dinner, we pulled out the party games. We were going to play one of my favorites, Scattergories. Sterling’s affianced had never played before.

For this game, you have 12 categories, and a letter. You have to think of something in each category that starts with that letter.

Fun stuff. I always win.

I started passing out pencils and category lists, and we realized the die wasn’t in the box. I had left it in my bag of tricks for the Journalism Club I ran at the elementary school.

Alison said, “No worries. I have a die in my purse.”

We tried to stop her. “It’s not a regular die. It’s a many-sided die covered in letters.”

She kept walking toward her purse. Sterling’s fiancee doesn’t listen, I thought.

She came in rummaging through her little purse. Me, I carry a backpack. Between my canister of Wet Ones and my novel, I have no use for Louis Vitton.

“Here’s a die!” she said. I shook my head at her.

She pulled out a hand-carved wooden 26-sided die with letters on it.

My son yelled, “Welcome to the family! You pass.”

click for photo

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “The die story”

  1. HiddenSpartan Says:

    All you need to substitute for that is a pack of cards and a coin. Each number has two possible alphabetical values. So Ace + Heads might be ‘A’, 2 + Heads might be ‘B’, Ace + Tails might be ‘M’ etc.

  2. T. Says:

    Aye, but we have an expression in my family: I was told there would be no math.

  3. roberto Says:

    First, the point of the story is that Alison is weird.

    Second, she fulfilled the old family prophecy about the woman with the alphabet die who would become a Landeros. (your son is a priestly scholar of ancient lore)

    Third, you could pick out the letters from a Scrabble game, or barring that, write the alphabet on paper and cut it into pieces.

  4. Mike Says:

    I read this thinking I would get to hear about a death. I feel cheated.

  5. T. Says:

    I’m sorry, Mike. I promise you a death story, right away.

  6. Mike Says:

    I feel rather evil just now…

  7. Death upon death « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] By request, I’m writing about a death. […]

  8. The woot bew story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] cousin Sterling and his bride Alison arrived […]

Leave a Reply

