The Superman speech

Today I was a guest speaker at a high school. The 11th grade English students came, three classes at a time, to hear me talk about my job.

I gave basically the same assembly five times in a row.

It’s my Superman speech.

I showed up in boots, cape and chest S to tell them being a journalist is the same as being Superman, because journalists protect truth, justice and the American way.

Here is an abridged and non-interactive version of the Superman speech.

Truth is king. A good journalist makes sure every point made in print can be substantiated. We look up what we can. We cite our sources. We don’t say ‘Lance robbed a bank.’ We say ‘Police suspect Lance robbed a bank.’ This is based in the superheroic service to the public’s right to know what’s going on.

Justice is always a consideration. We must present both sides of any issue with balance and sensitivity. We must weigh the benefit of reporting something against how invasive it is to the subject and his family.

The American way is my favorite. Look at the Bill of Rights. Exclude the right to a free press, and consider that everything else is guaranteed by the presence of the media. I contend that every freedom we enjoy as Americans is thanks to the watchdog industry I’m a proud part of.

Serving the public’s right to know, offering a forum for ideas and opinions, and tattling on people with power make us each Superman.

I’m just waiting for the day I hear ‘Look! It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s an editor!’

4 Responses to “The Superman speech”

  1. Jeremy A. Says:

    No Way!
    You dressed up as Superman to give ‘the Superman Speech’!

    When you gave ‘the Superman Speech’ (Okay not quite. I would say ‘Intro to Being a Journalist’)to my Newspaper class I remembered it a little differently.

    For example, here is one sampled bullet I took in my notes the first time you subbed our Newspaper Class (Moore, Class of 08-09) on 12/04/08…

    “Journalists = Dorks, Nerds, etc.”

    What happened to Superman or Wonder Woman?
    Does that belong in the miscellaneous category?
    I bet you forgot to mention one very awesome category that you happen to fall in.

  2. Julia Says:

    I was very dissapointed that I did not come to school. Someone told me you came and I wanted to punch myself for being sick and missing YOU speak!!! Of course, the week I choose to be sick the most eventful things happen at school. If you had warned me you were gonna speak I would have dragged my coughing body out of bed just to make it to my english class. I hope you know that you owe me a speech.

  3. Kevin Says:

    Site our sources? Do you also blindly rely on a spellchecker? 😉

    I only harangue you about your spelling because you are one of two people who’s ever corrected my grammar and been right. It’s my little revenge 😉

    XOXOX
    -Kevin

  4. T. Says:

    I don’t have spellchecker! Good catch and thank you.
    Now we’re square, by the way.
    t.

Leave a Reply

