The Halloween party

When I was a little girl, we were invited to my mom’s coworker’s Halloween party. I got a witch’s hat to wear.

In the late afternoon, Mom got a call. The woman’s little son had stopped breathing and turned blue. I had never heard of this before. It sounded cool.

They were at the hospital. The party was off.

Sometime shortly after we were invited for the rescheduled event. We left the witch’s hats at home. I remember I wore a pretty white blouse under a red jumper.

We were the first ones there. The place was decorated elaborately, and there was a long table covered in food.

I had never been the first ones there before. I didn’t like it. We sat on the couch — 8-year-old me and four grownups — and tried to keep a conversation going.

The hostess complimented my ensemble. I said, “You know I’d never thought of putting these together before.” The grownups laughed, and I didn’t know why that was funny.

Like an hour later, we realized noone else was coming. I was just a little girl but I understood the pressure of that. We weren’t having a good time, but we couldn’t slip out.

It was a long, painful evening for me, blanketed in the disappointment that I didn’t get to see a blue kid.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “The Halloween party”

  1. Julia Says:

    Because it’s Halloween I feel like I should tell you a Halloween story. Every year Veronica, Clayton, and I go trick or treating. The other year, being the teenagers we are, still went. But Clayton got tired and Veronica went by ourselves for a while. Needless to say, we are both scardey cats. We were going down a street near my house and we looked behind us. The Grim Reaper was following us. Uh-oh. We walked faster. He was gone. We look behind us and an evil clown was following us. Crap. Finally we make it to Veronica’s house with the color scared out of us. Turns out it was a couple of friends from school playing a prank on us. I love Halloween. 🙂

  2. roberto Says:

    You should have gone as a blue kid. That would have made it many times more uncomfortable.

  3. T. Says:

    Brilliant! i love it.

Leave a Reply

