Daddy’s girl

My daughter went shopping with a girlfriend today. I planned, out of consideration, to swing by an ATM and get her her allowance first.

She was shocked.

“I’m supposed to go shopping with only $20?”

“That, and the money you’ve saved for occasions like this.”

That sat well.

When Daddy wandered in the room the conversation had turned to what defined ‘necessities.’ She was arguing that when he took her shopping for her eighth-grade formal dress, he bought her two of them, and she didn’t have to pay.

“Yeah, I wouldn’t have done that.”

“I should have gone to Daddy this morning.”

This is when my helpful husband disclosed he would have given her $200 and told her to have a good time.

My son and I cried Daddy’s-girlism.

I had to remember the room-painting story to them.

When The Baby was 4, my husband and I spent a long day stripping her wallpaper. This was in a 100-year-old house. The wallpaper was stuck in places to drywall, wood and concrete.

We textured and painted the walls, and finished at about 4 p.m., just in time for me to primp and leave for work.

I went in to kiss my husband goodbye. He was coming down the ladder, two steps from the bottom, and was exhausted. He was glad to be done.

My daughter came in on my heel. She looked around the room with a big smile.

Then she said, “Daddy, will you make me a pink checkerboard ceiling?”

He gave me my kiss and switched direction. He never reached that first step from the bottom.

I got home eight hours later to find him washing up.

The checkers were perfect.

He was wiped out. He curled up around her little finger and went to sleep.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Daddy’s girl”

  1. Julia Says:

    Wow. Last time I asked my daddy for $5 for lunch he said “what extra chore are ya gonna do for it?” She is one dang lucky girl.

  2. Jeremy A. Says:

    I would have been happy with $20.
    I would have been very happy with $200.
    But simply I would have been quite happy with any amount of money.
    Its better to have some than none.
    My point is that you should be happy with what you have than what you don’t have.
    May all of you readers enjoy life with what you have.
    P.S. I also want to say, peace to all of you as well.

  3. T. Says:

    My husband (who is not an S O’M reader, but hears things) would like me to point out that I have painted the children’s rooms several times over the years, and that that is no different.
    Further, he says that if I am giving the impression the checkerboard artistry was a lot of work, it’s inaccurate.
    It turns out he’s touchy.

  4. Will Says:

    Buying complete stuff? Make it yourself, or make something that can make it itself.

    I can imagine you and H calling her a daddy’s girl.

    100 years? Where I lived in Wales was (and still is) about 500 years old.

  5. Will Says:

    It turns out that what I really want are van Neumann legos (Power functions + Technics + Mindstorms etc)

  6. gunky Says:

    i’ve never known how it feels to be a daddy’s girl (see oct 6 post) – but i bet it’s pretty nice.
    and i can tell my little girl is going to have that happy position with her daddy, as well.

Leave a Reply

