Cooking

Sheila Lukins died last Sunday. She was diagnosed with brain cancer three months ago.

She’s the author of The Silver Palate cookbook, which was one of my mother’s can’t-live-withouts; and Celebrate!, which is one of my can’t-live-withouts.

In honor of her life, my mother made chicken marbella, Lukins’ signature dish, last night. We went over and raised a glass to her memory.

The Silver Palate was one of the first cookbooks my mother gave me when I married and had a lifetime behind me of failed dinners, save the one delicious lasagne my date dropped on the floor.

My mother likes to tell about my attempts to make cookies as a child. Her favorite of the batch is when instead of 3/4 teaspoon baking soda, I once put 3/4 cup baking soda in the dough.

I have come so far. Thanks, Sheila, and rest in peace.

Tags:

One Response to “Cooking”

  1. Julia Says:

    This reminds me! I have figured out what I want to do with my life! (or at least my favorite idea so far). I am hoping to go to cullinary school and someday open up my own resturaunt. I love cooking so I figure it’d be a good idea!

Leave a Reply

