Another ghost story

Yesterday I went to my cousin’s wedding reception, (my goddaughter’s wedding was yesterday, too, and I had to choose.)

There was lots of family there I rarely see. I sat next to Uncle Monty and we started telling family stories — my favorite.

I told him I’d blogged The Refrigerator Story. I could tell by his face he knew which story I meant. He had been there.

He said the fridge still worked after, so “Mom” kept using it, but the handle wasn’t quite right. You had pull on it really hard. In the ’60s he noticed it in Unca Rob’s apartment.

Then he told me things I’d never heard. He told me about Mom’s second husband. The cousin/friend who stepped in after “Papa’s” murder.

Everybody called him “Daddy.” He died of a stomach ulcer.

“I saw him the weekend before he died, leaning against the house, holding his side.” Monty said he ran in the house to tell his grandmother, and she made I-don’t-care lips and waved him away. “They hated each other.”

I didn’t know.

After he died, Auntie Elsie and her husband Bill came to visit.

They stayed in Daddy’s room. During the night Elsie woke to see her husband standing in the window, arms spread, holding the curtains open.

In the morning she said to her man, “Hey what were doing in the window, and how come you tied the curtains back?”

Bill said, “I wasn’t and I didn’t.”

“But the curtains are still tied back.”

Everyone went to see. Not a lot going on that day, I guess.

My mom was among them, and can attest to the amazingness of this next part.

The curtains were indeed swagged back, but nothing was holding them that way. Elsie touched one, and they fell straight.

It was the Daddy ghost.

I guess he was trying to tell them he was dead — you know, that it was curtains for him.

11 Responses to “Another ghost story”

  1. Your mama Says:

    Okay, it was very noisy in the room, so you got a few things wrong on this story. First, Monty was not referring to “Mama” but to “Nana”. We grandkids called her either Nana or Mom. Pretty much everyone called her Mom.

    Her second husband was referred to as Daddy by her children and as Grandpa by the rest of us. When Grandpa died, it was not Elsie and Bill who stayed in Grandpa’s room but Randy and Loretta. They had gone to bed. Shortly thereafter, Randy got up to go to the bathroom and Loretta went back to sleep. She awakened to see who she thought was Randy standing at the window holding back the curtains and gazing outside. She went back to sleep.

    The next morning, she asked Randy why he was standing at the window. He didn’t know what she was talking about. She said that he had tied back the curtains and he denied it. So they went to look. Sure enough, the curtains were swagged back, but nothing was holding them back. When Loretta touched them, they fell straight. I was there when this happened.

    We figured it must have been Grandpa that she saw since it was his room.

  2. T. Says:

    Told much better than mine. I will amend, and leave your comment as credit. t.

  3. Fred Bauman Says:

    Fie and forsooth to you. I had to read that entire ghost story again just to get to the “it was curtains for him” part. Shame shame shame. You actually had a chance of a ghost with that one.

  4. Your mama Says:

    I’d like to know who said it was Elsie and Bill. I did like the “curtains for him” conclusion.

  5. roberto Says:

    Kudos on the punchline!

    I hadn’t heard this story before. But it sure sounds like Grandpa. He would often just stand on the front porch, smoking his pipe and staring off into space for minutes on end.

    But one thing that puzzles me is that this whole Bill/Elsie/Randy/Loretta thing could have been cleared up by picking up the phone to call Randy who could confirm or deny.

    When I wrote my ghost story about the apartment in San Berdoo, I interviewed all parties who were first hand witnesses (with the exception of the old boyfriend).

  6. T. Says:

    I DID ask Randy! I walked right over to him and asked for his version. He had never heard of this.
    But mom is insistant.

  7. roberto Says:

    You asked Randy. Randy denies it. Yet Your Mama insists it was him and so you publish the story anyway.

    One thing about this family – and it may not be unique – is that there is so much misinformation floating around all the time.

  8. Throwing people in the pool « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] at my Uncle Junior’s house. I don’t know why we call him Junior. His name is Bill, and his father was a Korean immigrant, whose name sounded nothing like […]

  9. Hall passes « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] My cousin got married this summer. She declared Johnny Depp her hall pass. My mother has called dibbs on Hugh Laurie. Good choices all around. […]

  10. Throwing people in the pool « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] at my Uncle Junior’s house. I don’t know why we call him Junior. His name is Bill, and his father was a Korean immigrant, whose name sounded nothing like […]

  11. Hall passes « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] My cousin got married this summer. She declared Johnny Depp her hall pass. My mother has called dibbs on Hugh Laurie. Good choices all around. […]

Leave a Reply

