The birthday gift

Today I am a 42-year-old.

Twelve years ago, at my 30th-birthday party, I opened my gifts in front of family and friends.

I got a Winnie-the-Pooh piggy bank, recipe books, marmalade, and towels. Uncle Mike gave me fuzzy handcuffs.

Later I opened a gift from a friend who had come out from Boulder. I shook the box, which held a camera. I said, “I’m trying to guess what it is, because Katherine said it’s an obvious gift for me.”

My paternal grandfather yelled out, “Oh boy, more fuzzy handcuffs.”

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “The birthday gift”

  1. Gunky Says:

    happy birthday, oldest friend.
    I will forever regret not saying my tribute to you at your party.
    I wanted to tell everyone that I’m so lucky to be your oldest friend. it’s a title I’m honored to have.
    I wanted to tell them that my childhood memories are held in your memory and that I have to ask you to tell me them all the time so’s I can keep things straight.
    I wanted to thank you, Dianne, and Nana for you.
    xo

  2. Mike Says:

    Yeah, I hated it that you put out a birthday list this time. I was really hoping to get you something electric to go along with those furry cuffs. Happy Birthday, Smack!! You’re still a head turner. Love ya.

  3. The Santa Claus story « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] Stories O’ Mine My life has been one long descent into respectability « The birthday gift […]

  4. roberto Says:

    Happy two days after your birthday day! (it’s equally, if not more, important that you be happy on this day)

  5. Todd Picconi Says:

    OMG, I knew you were a Leo….Did you know that Leo represents “The Sun” in astrology? You can really lighten people’s day up, right? Toni, I am sure your Birthday was GREAT….I am also celebrating you being here. Stay Happy & Sweet!!!
    Love,
    Todd

  6. My cousin knows me too well « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] you know, I turned 40 this summer. I said in my head, I spent my young, firm-body years wishing I had the courage to get […]

  7. These parents have balls « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I piled up all the gift certificates I got for my birthday and bought ’70s TV series on DVD. Now the hours fly by as I listen to episodes of Taxi, The […]

  8. The Santa Claus story « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] O' Mine My life has been one long descent into respectability « The birthday gift To every thing there is a season […]

  9. My cousin knows me too well « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] you know, I turned 40 only just. I said in my head, I spent my young, firm-body years wishing I had the courage to get my […]

Leave a Reply

