The favor story

I’m sitting here reading a friend’s blog, which I just discovered today. He’s a photographer, (about 80 percent of my close friends are professional photographers; you’d think I would have better Christmas cards — or a family portrait) and the site is gorgeous.

Anyway I keep calling the kids over to see a photo or hear a story off the blog, and my son said, “Hey, have you blogged about the time Uncle Mike called you to go get him?”

I haven’t.

I have pried myself off the blog o’ wonderfulness to tell you this story.

One night I had gone out to a club with someone other than Mike. I got home after 2 o’clock in the morning. I was tired from dancing and smelled like a bar, which in the ’80s, meant a lot of cigarette smoke.

Michael called. “Smo,” he called me Smo, “I need you to come and get me. My car broke down.”

OK.

“I’m on Green River Drive in Gypsum Canyon.”

Good gory. “Is that where I think it is? Where you see a golf course on the way to Disneyland?” That’s really far away, an hour, depending on traffic.

This is how much I love Michael. I went.

He told me he would wait for me inside the Coco’s. I got there just before 4 a.m. I didn’t see him.

The hostess came up and said, “Are you Smo?”

OK.

“Mike left you this note.” Smo, the tow truck driver said I had to ride back with him. Meet me at Denny’s back in town. Mike.

He didn’t even leave me a pre-paid cup of coffee.

I bought a joe to go and drove home to Denny’s. I didn’t see him, but I figured he had to deal with tow-truck stuff. I got a booth and waited.

At some point I asked a guy to check the men’s room. At about 6 I drove home in daylight. I never did lay eyes on Mike.

He later said, “After I got home, I thought, what’s the point of going to Denny’s? So I went to bed.”

Now every family trip on the 91 includes pointing at the Coco’s. “There’s where Mom went to get Uncle Mike.”

This is the kind of thing that will never happen to my children, because cell phones have been invented.

If I had had a cell phone then, I would have beat him with it.

Tags:

8 Responses to “The favor story”

  1. A cell-phone beating « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] cell-phone beating By T. I ended my post the other day saying I wanted to beat Michael with my cell […]

  2. roberto Says:

    >“After I got home, I thought, what’s the point of going to Denny’s? So I went to bed.”

    This is an ass-holey thing to do. I hope at least he thanked you profusely.

  3. T. Says:

    what do you think, rob? should we kick him out of the football pool?

  4. Mike Says:

    It was the thought that counts. You scored major points that night (morning). Now blog about all the times I bailed you out in the wee hours of the morning.

  5. A return favor « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] That reminded me of a story, which Mike will be pleased I told, since I hung him out to dry with The Favor post. […]

  6. A cell-phone beating « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] ended my post the other day saying I wanted to beat Michael with my cell […]

  7. Stats « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] wish no one would read, because they’re just me complaining, like The Home Showing Disaster, The Favor Story, The Horrible Person and I was Dismissed from the PTA. These have more clicks than they […]

  8. A return favor « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] That reminded me of a story, which Mike will be pleased I told, since I hung him out to dry with The Favor post. […]

Leave a Reply

