Adverb humor

Today is My Junior High Best Friend’s birthday.

It’s also my High School Boyfriend’s birthday, the boyfriend from The Trumpet Story‘s birthday and the copy editor from The Palm Tree Story’s birthday.

But I’m giving the post to my Junior High Best Friend.

We used to fancy ourselves grammar police, which everyone knows makes you popular at parties.

My focus was verb tense, and Kelly’s was adverbs.

When somone said, for instance, ‘I’ll just do it real quick,’ she would mutter ‘-ly.’ She was always muttering ‘-ly.’

My running joke was that when she was born her mother named her ‘Kel,’ and Kel popped her mouth off the breast to mutter, ‘-ly.’

Tags:

2 Responses to “Adverb humor”

  1. Mike Says:

    too funny. my reaction to grammar police,…get a life “ly”.

  2. Julia Says:

    I don’t know why but that reminds me of when people don’t realize my name is Julia and they call me Julie. I always have to mutter -a afterwards. That poor ‘a’ at the end of my name just can’t be neglected!!

Leave a Reply

