Photographer sass

This week I started a new job — I’m done with subbing! — as a section editor for a newspaper group.

The publisher requested I write a column introducing myself, to run this weekend.

I knew what was coming next.

Sure enough, this afternoon I was instructed to go into the photography department and have a mug shot taken to run with my column. Grumble grumble grumble.

I called there, “Hey I’ve been ordered to get a mug.”

“Come on back. We’ll do it right now.”

“I was told you had people who would do my hair and face, lend me some clothes.” I am sassy.

“Sure,” he said, real cool. “Just come through editorial and go through the door marked ‘spa’.”

Sassy, quick and funny. I’m gonna like it here.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Photographer sass”

  1. Mike Says:

    Congrats on the new gig! It sounds like a dream. I have been enamored with newspapers, both their reading and their creating, since high school. ‘Sgood to hear that you’ll have a quick and funny bunch to work with. They stand a chance of keeping up with you.

  2. Will Says:

    I find this disappointing, as you were one of the best subs around!

  3. roberto Says:

    So I suppose you’re going to turn into one of those fast talking career gals who thinks she’s one of the boys, who dressses in men’s clothes,
    drinks with the guys at the local bar and hobnobs with some smooth-talking heel reporter named Biff or Smoocher or… Smitty.

  4. T. Says:

    actually i just got home from the Pink Flamingo, where Smitty and I drank Pabst and smoked cigars all night. My plaid flannel smells to high heaven, and my mouth is exhausted from talking so fast.
    I’m not sure how long I can do this.

  5. These parents have balls « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] These parents have balls By T. I’m spending a lot of time commuting in my new job. […]

  6. These parents have balls « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] These parents have balls By T. I’m spending a lot of time commuting in my new job. […]

  7. These parents have balls « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] I’m spending a lot of time commuting in my new job. […]

Leave a Reply

