Mötley Crüe concert

It’s midnight on the nose, and I just got home from Cruefest 2. I was working a concessions stand to raise money for my kids’ high school’s music program, but I abandoned my post when Mötley Crüe came on stage.

I’m a Mötley Crüe lover from way back.

When I was 14 they played at the Swing Auditorium in San Bernardino. That concert kicked off the Shout at the Devil tourQuiet Riot opened for them. I realized tonight, while I was complaining that the music was giving me a headache, that that was 25 years ago.

They can still rock just as well as ever. But they’re very loud.

Fun fact: Aerosmith’s ‘Dude Looks Like a Lady’ was written about Mötley Crüe. They wore a lot of make-up.

This concert trip was a different experience from the one 1984. Midnight didn’t feel so late last time.

Instead of being  Too Young to Fall in Love, I have to close my eyes and wait for the Motrin to kick in.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Mötley Crüe concert”

  1. JeremyA Says:

    My dad remembers a lot of concerts that he went in the 60s.
    Ones I can remember he said were the Rolling Stones, The Byrds, The Doors, Chicago, The Beach Boys, and more…

  2. T. Says:

    He’s right on. It was at the Swing where the Stones made their first appearance in the United States.
    It’s also where the Doors performed their first concert.
    It used to be the place for anyone who was anyone.

    I remember when Twisted Sister gave a concert in 1985, and MTV made a movie of it. I recorded it on on our new handy-dandy VCR and watched it every day of my junior year.

  3. gunky Says:

    rock on, sister. i loved all the bands mentioned above, too.
    but i don’t think i would enjoy their midnight concert.

  4. roberto Says:

    It is a little known fact that I was in a band that was one of the opening acts for a Buffalo Springfield concert at the Swing Auditorium. You may ask Chauncey, as he was the one who got us the gig.

  5. T. Says:

    Dude! That is so cool.

  6. Jeremy A. Says:

    I just learned more things about the Swing Auditorium (and concerts held there) just recently.
    My dad was surprised to learn that he saw the Stones when they made their first appearance in the United States in front of 3,500 people on June 5th, 1964.
    That concert in 1964 also included the Byrds and a couple of other local bands.
    My dad knew someone who was 15 that played in one of the local bands.
    Now imagine that you were just 15 and you played with the Stones!

    You can find more cool facts on these websites:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swing_Auditorium

    http://www.sbsun.com/search/ci_3583837

    http://forum.johndensmore.com/index.php?showtopic=880

Leave a Reply

