Exclusion

Today I clicked on a link on My Oldest Friend’s blogroll. The post began, ‘I think my husband and I should divorce.”

She goes on to say she feels a little dirty enjoying the right to be married, earned by her heterosexuality. She likens it to being a member of a country club that excludes people of color.

I left this story as a comment:

When my son was in first grade his friends joined Cub Scouts. We explained to him that this group was in the news because gays and atheists were not allowed to be members, and that in this family we don’t join groups that exclude.

I got a call mid-year from one of his friends’ moms, who could barely talk through her laughter.

She had asked him why he hadn’t joined Scouts. He told her “I’m not allowed to be in Boy Scouts, cuz I might be gay.”

Close enough.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Exclusion”

  1. gunky Says:

    awesome.

  2. Mike Says:

    What a great way to put your money where your mouth is with your son on the issue of tolerance–no, celebration–of diversity. Worth doing even if they don’t get our intended reason at the time. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

