The Carnegie Hall story

Years ago I got a call from my daughter’s voice teacher. She was putting a group together to perform at various charity events in New York City. Most of the performers were high schoolers, and The Baby was a young-looking 11.

The last stop on the tour would be in Carnegie Hall, the director said.

My in-laws were visiting when we got the call, and my mother-in-law told me this story.

“I sang in Carnegie Hall,” she started.

“You did?” She doesn’t sing.

“Yes, when I was a child. My father and I went there to see a barbershop quartet. At the end of the concert the performers invited the audience to sing along. I opened my mouth and sang. Technically, I sang in Carnegie Hall.”

Well, she came closer than my daughter did. That part of her tour was canceled.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Carnegie Hall story”

  1. roberto Says:

    I actually did sing in Carnegie Hall. On the stage, in front of an audience.

  2. T. Says:

    Unca Rob, please tell me the whole story about this. I wish to poach it.

Leave a Reply

