The song story

I was driving home one morning from dropping kids at schools, and I heard a snippet of ‘I Wanna Kiss You All Over’ by Exile.

When I first met my husband, this song ran through my head every time he held my hand. After I flew home, I recorded it on a cassette and mailed it to him. I couldn’t help it.

He thinks it’s a dorky song.

He told me he had a Peter Gabriel song he was going to reply with, but he had to get his record player needle fixed first. I have no idea what song it was going to be.

So 17 years later this snippet reminds me that he has never sent me a song.

I was all kinds of mad walking into the house.

I recognized I was unreasonable, but I was mad, and that was that. It was one of those times I felt sorry for anyone married to me.

I headed for Internet poker, my drug of choice for an unbalanced chi.

When I turned on the monitor, I got the e-mail ding.

My husband had sent me a short note, “Let’s see if this works.”

There was an attachment. It was this song.

I cried all over myself.

It was way better than my dorky song.

I was touched and amazed. How many days are there in 17 years? Those are some long odds. Maybe we have one of those psychic connections I’ve heard tell about.

It was one of those times I felt anyone married to my husband was very lucky.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “The song story”

  1. gunky Says:

    awwwww.

    this is one of those times your story seems so unbelievable.
    (but i believe!)

  2. Julia G. Says:

    Awwww!
    I almost cried just reading the story!!
    I’m such a sap…..

  3. Lori Says:

    I LOVE that Incubus song.

    At least he didn’t say this one by Beck

  4. T. Says:

    Ha ha! I would have been even madder than I was when I realized he had never sent me a song.
    Too funny.

Leave a Reply

