I worked in a bar

I was recently found online by Kevin, one of my greatest friends from Boulder.

He was a stay-up-all-night-working-a-crossword kind of friend. We went out for ice cream and to the movies. His computer was cooler than mine, so I did all my essays at his house.

I could tell a million stories of his being there when I needed him.

In college I worked at The Sink, a low-ceilinged, windowless, university hangout that was mainly a bar. Either Kevin worked as a bouncer there, or he was so close with all the employees that he was just always there, and always large and useful.

On weekend nights and whenever the Buffs trounced the Sooners, everyone who could fit in that building squeezed in, fire safety be damned.

One Friday on cheap-pitcher night, a fraternity kid was getting creepy with me.

These nights were difficult for us waitresses. We had to press through the crowd all the way from against the bar to wherever the orderer was standing. I did this with a small round tray on one flattened palm, balanced with my other hand, both arms high above my head.

Each tray held a full pitcher and empty pint glasses.

On this Friday night, as I went through the gaping jamb separating the bar area from the one of the squat rooms, the creepy customer put his hands under my armpits, lifted me against the soda station and put his mouth on mine.

Kevin heard the crash of my cargo and got there quickly, I can’t imagine how.

It all happened very fast. In the end, Brother Creepy had a broken nose. He was taken by ambulance, but I don’t think he needed to be.

Kevin let me lean on him, sticky and dripping with beer.

I don’t know who threw the punch. I hope it was me.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “I worked in a bar”

  1. Kevin Says:

    I don’t remember the incident, but I’m sure it wasn’t me who threw the punch. Breaking someone’s nose would have stuck in my memory, as I haven’t been in a fight since sixth grade. Comforting gorgeous friends of mine? That happened more than I care to admit. I’d bet my computer is still cooler than yours, though. 😉

  2. The time my daughter went missing « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] had gone to a party at Kevin’s house. Kevin had been one of my closest friends before I left the Sink and had a baby. We ran into each other in […]

  3. Headlines « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] By T. My friend Kevin from Boulder sent me this e-mail after my post about Peter Bonerz. It appears to be the cover of a […]

  4. Headlines « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] friend Kevin from Boulder sent me this e-mail after my post about Peter Bonerz. It appears to be the cover of a […]

Leave a Reply

