I’m with the band

I have an aunt and uncle who lived and raised three boys in Modesto. The youngest boy and some friends formed a band in my aunt’s garage.

The next thing we know we’re getting reports they’re touring, making albums, showing videos on MTV. David Bowie named them as his favorite artists. We heard them on the “I am Sam” soundtrack. Two of their songs were in car commercials.

I was a proud cousin. I got a button made that says, “I’m with the band.”

One year they played at the Troubador in Los Angeles right before Thanksgiving. Later that week my aunt and uncle, my parents, the band and their spouses joined us at my house for dinner.

My Oldest Friend and her husband were in town from the coast, having Thanksgiving with her parents. They were supposed to stop by to see us.

After dinner she called to apologize for running late, “My husband has just discovered this band called Grandaddy, and he’s downloading all their CDs off Napster. He’s almost done, and we’ll be over then.”

“Grandaddy’s here,” I said.

For the first and last time in our lives, I got to be the cool one.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “I’m with the band”

  1. Gunky Says:

    Congrats on your unbelievable progress which I blame for haulting my blog. Thanks. Thanks a lot. ; )

  2. Mike Says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts! It took me about a year to get to that. I’m enjoying a lazy Sunday at my folks’ house with wife out of town (i.e. I have backup parents with no honeydo) reading your stories. It’s a rare moment of planetary alignment. If this reoccurs soon, I’ll get to read the stories on the list and vote for my fave. Does it help to at least say I love them all so far? Really.

  3. Celebrity encounters « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] As you may remember, one of my cousins was in the band Grandaddy. He was also a serious skateboarder, like his buddy, professional skateboarder and movie star Jason Lee. Remember his stunts in Mumford? Real. […]

  4. Stats « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] Special Day Class, which tied for the win in my best-post poll, ranks in the bottom […]

  5. Celebrity encounters « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] As you may remember, one of my cousins was in the band Grandaddy. He was also a serious skateboarder, like his buddy, professional skateboarder and movie star Jason Lee. Remember his stunts in Mumford? Real. […]

  6. Stats « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] Special Day Class, which tied for the win in my best-post poll, ranks in the bottom […]

Leave a Reply

