My cousin

While I was out on St. Patrick’s Day I apparently made to sell one of the Beatles on my cousin.

Both he and she are recently divorced and seeing other people, but I didn’t let that deter me. They’re both such great catches I had to meddle. They’re single, good-looking, educated, successful and fun.

Here’s my favorite story about my cousin.

A couple of summers ago my brood went to Maine with my mother- and sister-in-law to sprinkle my father-in-law’s ashes.

While we were there, my mother-in-law got and accepted an offer on her New York home. She and my husband hurried back to deal with things.

The kids and I took advantage of the available few days for an impromptu trip to Harvard, where my son intended to apply.

The first day we spent at Harvard.

We set out to spend the second day touring Boston, but nothing went right. Right off the bat we got lost on the subway between the Sam Adams brewery tour and the city.

Our spirits were still high, though. We saw several people on the subway we thought were people we knew from home. We started joking that everybody’s twin was in Boston. It became a game.

By the time we found an ATM in the city, it told me my card was no good. It was early evening before we had cash in hand and had found the tour business.

We managed to get on one of those narrated trams you can get on and off of all day. It was so late we were told we would have time only to get on and stay on.

The last stop before it looped back was Harvard, so that was handy.

The guide/driver was hilarious but clearly rushing. If no one was waiting at a stop, we went right on by, hearing landmarks’ stories but seeing them as a blur.

But in front of the site of the Boston Massacre, some tourists detained us. They had an issue with their tickets the driver tried to resolve. It was the first real stop we made.

My son said, “I see another twin! Doesn’t that look like aunt Vicki? And ohmygoodness! The guy with her looks just like her husband.”

The couple had stopped to do something to their stroller right under our open side of the tram.

The resemblance was amazing. I called out their names.

Here’s how amazing the resemblance was: They called our names back to us.

Click here for photo

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “My cousin”

  1. Mike Houser Says:

    did you really run into Vicky in Boston? If so, did you know they were going to be there?

  2. T. Says:

    we really did.
    the more we thought it about it, the more amazing we thought it was. because that was the only stop we made in the whole city, and she was right under our window.
    we had no idea they were there. further, they were staying in cambridge, same as us. they got there the same day and were leaving the same day.
    i took a picture from the tram to prove it to the family.
    that wasn’t the only amazing coincidence of that trip, but that’s a blog for another day….

  3. gunky Says:

    that’s CRAZY!

  4. The Harvard home « Stories O’ Mine Says:

    […] Harvard home By T. A couple of summers ago the kids and I went to Cambridge, because my son had decided he wanted to go to […]

  5. My cousin knows me too well « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] My cousin knows me too well By T. Today is my baby cousin’s birthday. […]

  6. The Harvard home « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] couple of summers ago the kids and I went to Cambridge, because my son had decided he wanted to go to […]

  7. My cousin knows me too well « Stories O' Mine Says:

    […] Today is my baby cousin’s birthday. […]

Leave a Reply

